MASVC

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Marine Aquarium Society of Ventura County

I forgot my password

May 2024

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat

Calendar Calendar

Number of site visitors

4 posters

DIY Aiptasia and GSP Killer/Controller. Killer-Snot

ericpkeith
    ericpkeith

DIY Aiptasia and GSP Killer/Controller.  Killer-Snot Empty DIY Aiptasia and GSP Killer/Controller. Killer-Snot

Post by ericpkeith Wed Apr 23, 2014 11:45 am

I'm a big consumer of information so now and then I like to contribute back. So I have a secret recipe for killing aiptasia and GSP. Just kidding, it's no secret but just a variation of a popular recipe you can find on many forums.

Since reefers like funny names, I'll call it Killer-Snot (I'm not good at naming things)

Killer-Snot Recipe (large batch that can be stored infinitely):
    4 ounces of DI water
    4 tablespoons of Calcium Hydroxide (Kalkwasser)
    4 teaspoons of acetic acid (vinegar) (pulls down pH a little and creates calcium acetate, which I find necessary for proper binding)
    Mix thoroughly for one minute.

The goal is to have a milky paste that is caustic. You may want to use a pH meter or test strip to test how caustic the solution is; I usually aim for a pH of at least 10. I use the vinegar to pull down the pH (if needed) and the resulting calcium acetate helps keep the solution coagulated, which is necessary for stickiness/tackiness. In other words, it should be fairly "snotty" or paste-like when it is used with a syringe. Some experimenting may be necessary to get it right. My recipe is a good start for proportions. Not all Kalkwasser is the same...so its hard to speak in finite terms.  

Directions:
    Before applying to aiptasia or nuisance GSP, Microwave until boiling. I find that boiling it right before application greatly increases effectiveness on larger aiptasia.
    Turn off circulation pumps