MASVC

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Marine Aquarium Society of Ventura County

I forgot my password

May 2024

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat

Calendar Calendar

Number of site visitors

+4
sisterlimonpot
MxReEfEr92
dwolson2
TheShark
8 posters

Hello everyone - Joe

TheShark

Hello everyone - Joe Empty Hello everyone - Joe

Post by TheShark Wed Mar 13, 2013 4:42 pm

Hey everyone I'm a beginner to any kind of reef system. I've been doing some research online when time has permitted. I was possible wondering if anyone had any references they could suggest for a newbie looking to get into this hobby (books,guides,LFS)? I would like to be able to attend one of your events in the future (Noticed I already missed this months).

I live in Camarillo and work in Ventura so I'm open to travel around the County.

Thank you all for your input
    -Joe

PS- Are your events kid friendly? I would love to get my daughter involved me she's 12.
    dwolson2
    dwolson2
    Admin

Hello everyone - Joe Empty Re: Hello everyone - Joe

Post by dwolson2 Wed Mar 13, 2013 5:05 pm

Welcome, most of the events are teen friendly. I also live in camarillo and can help you out if you need help.
    TheShark

Post by TheShark Wed Mar 13, 2013 5:16 pm

Sounds great! At this point any help would be great. This of course would be a first time build for me and everywhere i've read has said the bigger the tank the better for a beginner. Do you find this to be true? Can you recommend any local stores for live stock and equipment? Or maybe some personal experiences that can help me get started?

Thanks again.
    -Joe
    MxReEfEr92
    MxReEfEr92
    Admin

Post by MxReEfEr92 Wed Mar 13, 2013 5:44 pm

I think a good beginner size tank is around 75 gallons. That said you always want to go as big as you can afford because it will give you less of a reason to upgrade sooner.
    MxReEfEr92
    MxReEfEr92
    Admin